Skip to main content
Flip Flop Live
site map
rss feedemail usour twitterour facebook page pintrestlinkdin youtubeinstagramtumbler
2019 CBMA Nominees
Friday, September 20 2019

We'd like to say congratulations to all of the nominees for the 2019 CBMA Awards! Great job by Mike Worley and Chad Sain and thanks to 94.9FM The Surf and Riptide Radio for making the live stream available to those not in the N. Myrtle Beach area today. Also thanks to Bo GIlbert for updating the Surf Facebook page and for compiling the list. We can't wait to see everyone in November, we love our Beach Music family!

Your 2019 CBMA Nominees

JK Loftin “Carolina Moon - CD” Various Artists
Pat Patterson “I Count the Tears” Dana Jones & TBCP
K.Houston, J.B. Fowler, J. Jenkins “Playing with My Friends - CD” Various Artists
Rick Strickland “The Rest of Me” Rick Strickland and Rick Lee “We Ain’t Leaving Carolina” Too Much Sylvia

Buddy Strong "I Count the Tears" Dana Jones & TBCP
David Rhyne “We Ain’t Leaving Carolina” Too Much Sylvia
JK Loftin “Carolina Moon - CD” Various Artists
Keith Houston “Playing with My Friends - CD” Various Artists
Rick Strickland "The Rest of Me" Rick Strickland
Tim Sidden “Slow Steady Groove” Cat5

Compilation Album of the Year
“A Walk on The Boardwalk” KHP Music
“Carolina Moon” Cape Fear Studios
“I Count the Tears” Patman & Robin
“Let Loose" Sand City Productions
“Playing with Friends” KHP Music

Michael Branch Award:
Andy Lucy & Jonathan Sharpe Flip Flop Live
Eric Bowman Bowties Entertainment
Julian B. Fowler Little Peddler Productions
Pat Patterson Beach Music 45
Woody & Sharon Wimmer Wimmer Promotions

Shag Club Event
Cabin Fever Throwdown Raleigh Shag Club Raleigh NC
Capital City Extravaganza X Capital City Shag Club Columbia, SC
Columbia Shag Invitational 2018 Columbia Shag Club Lexington, SC
Jr. Shag Event OD Shag Club NMB, SC
Sparkle City Celebration 2018 R&B Shag Club Spartanburg, SC

Event of The Year
Amazingly Amazing Largetime Cruise 2019 Ft. Lauderdale, FL
King's Mountain Beach Blast 2018 King's Mountain, NC
Melodies & Memories Cruise 2019 Charleston, SC
Ocean Drive Beach Music Festival 2019 N. Myrtle Beach, SC
TR’s Cancer Fighters Fundraiser 2018 N. Myrtle Beach, SC

Concert Series of The Year
Calabash Concert Series Calabash, NC
Downtown Gastonia Summer Concerts Series Gastonia, NC
Music on Main (Horseshoe) NMB, SC
North Hills Concert Series Raleigh, NC
Shoe Center Appreciation Days NMB, SC

Internet Radio Station
Beach Shag Rhythm & Blues Radio - Shaun Lamm
Jukin’ Oldies - Steve Baker - Katy Benningfield / Pat Gwinn
Large Time Radio - Pat Patterson
Riptide - Mr & Mrs Scott, Dennison, Henricksen

Internet Radio Show
“Carolina Beach Party”- Johnny B
“Johnny’s Jukebox” - John Hall
“On the Beach w/ Ray Ray” - Ray Melton
“Salt, Sand & Sea” - Ray Scott
“Sounds of the Strand” Dan Willard

Internet Radio DJ
John Hall RIPTIDE Radio
Johnny B RIPTIDE Radio
Ray Ray Melton On The Beach w/ Ray Ray
Ray Scott RIPTIDE Radio
Scott Walker Beach Shag Rhythm & Blues

AM Radio Station
860 WEVA Emporia, VA
1070 WNCT Greenville, NC
1150 WBAG Burlington, NC
1450 WIZS Oxford, NC
1570 WNCA Siler City, NC

FM Radio Station
91.7 WSGE Dallas, NC
96.5 WPCC Clinton, SC
98.3 WLUS Oxford, NC
99.1 WDZD Monroe, NC
105.5 WFJA Sanford, NC

AM Radio DJ (John R Award)
Andy Lucy 860 AM / WEVA Emporia, VA
Barry Hayes 1570 AM / WNCA Siler City, NC
Elizabeth Carlene 770 AM / WLWL Rockingham, NC
Fred Rouse 1070 AM / WNCT Greenville, NC
Gailes Stuckey 1150 AM / WBAG Burlington, NC
Justin Rouse 1070 AM / WNCT Greenville, NC

FM Radio DJ (Larry Crockett Award)
Eric Bowman 99.1 FM / WDZD Monroe, NC
Big John Ruth 105.5 FM / WFJA Sanford, NC
Mike Brooks 98.3 FM / WLUS Oxford, NC
Mike Worley 94.9 FM / WVCO Loris, SC
Pat Patterson 96.5 FM / WPCC Clinton, SC
Trey Snide 100.1 FM / WIZS Henderson, NC


Club / Mobile DJ (Richard Nixon)
Eric Bowman
Jay Kinlaw
Johnny B (John Barkley)
Mike Worley
Pat Patterson


Live Production
Bob Blair Embers ft. Craig Woolard
Buddy Strong Shag Attack
Chris Wooten Rick Strickland Band
Eddie Cogle Band of Oz
Klint Ford Tim Clark Band

National Dance Song
“Got to Be You’” Dr. Victor
“I Ain’t Leaving Mississippi” Jaye Hammer
“Little Miss Night & Day” Boz Scaggs
"Sugar Pie Honey Bunch" Kid Rock
“Summer Fever” Little Big Town

2019 Steve Hardy Award - Radio Show of The Year
Beat of The Beach Pat Patterson
Carolina Beach Party Johnny B
Carolina Ocean Drive Mike Brooks & Alan D
Surf Countdown Mike Worley
Wave Beach Music Countdown Eric Bowman

Syndicated Radio Show
"At the Beach w/ Pat Gwinn" Gwinn, Hicks & Benningfield
“Beach Music Top 40” John Hook
"Carolina Sounds Beach Show” Butch Halpin
“Darin & Anita on the Grand Strand” Darin Henley & Anita Littman
“On the Beach w/ Charlie Brown” Charlie Brown & Chris Beachley

"Be Ever Wonderful” Russell Henry
“Don’t Pull Your Love Medley" Gary Lowder & Smokin’ Hot feat Harold Smith
"Hearts" JD Cash
“The Rest of Me" Rick Strickland Band
“Where the Poor Boys Dance” Rhonda McDaniel

Camron Dudley Drums Cat5
Casey Meyer Guitar Jim Quick & Coastline
Chris Jennings Guitar Band of Oz
Glen Tippett Keyboards Cat5
Jimbo Durham Drums Shag Attack
Rick Strickland Guitar Rick Strickland Band

Club (Bill Griffin Award)
Loafers Beach Club Raleigh, NC
Lynn’s Dance Club Charlotte, NC
OD Arcade N. Myrtle Beach, SC
OD Pavilion N. Myrtle Beach, SC
TJ's Nightlife Raleigh, NC

Show Club (Cecil Corbett Award)
Billy’s Barn Salem, VA
Deckerz N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Duck's Beach Club N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Pittsboro Roadhouse Pittsboro, NC
Spanish Galleon N. Myrtle Beach, SC

Collaboration or Duo
“Don’t Fight It” Phil Wilson & Blackwater R&B Band
“Everything” Tim Cashion & Craig Woolard
“Kiss on My List” Gary Lowder & Steve Edmunds
“Playing with My Friends” Carolina Coast Band & Rickey Godfrey
“Shaggin The Strand with You” Doyle Wood & Jim Quick

Solo Album of the Year
“Best of Rhonda McDaniel” Rhonda McDaniel
"Make Your Mark" Mark Black
“New Beginnings ” Rick Strickland
“My Love Is Your Love (Forever)” Jackie Gore
“The Heart and Soul of Danny Woods” Danny Woods

Song Writer(s) (2019 Tommy Black Award)
Jerry West “Slow Steady Grove” Cat5
Jim Quick “Carolina Shine” Jim Quick
Lesa Hudson “Mixed Emotions” Lesa Hudson
R. Mark Black “Who’s Loving You” R. Mark Black
Rick Lee “We Ain’t Leaving Carolina” Too Much Sylvia
Rick Strickland “Dance with Me” Rick Strickland

Group Album of the Year
“Backs Against the Wall” Holiday Band
“Band of Brothers” Blackwater Band
“Live at The MNO Jim Quick & Coastline
“Movin’ On” The Castaways
“Together”The Embers ft Craig Woolard


Rising Star(s)
CAT5 Band
Feature Attraction Band
Jimbo Durham
Randy Clay Band
The Tonez
Sylvia Johns Ritchie

Group of The Year
Band of Oz
Embers ft. Craig Woolard
Gary Lowder & Smokin' Hot
Rick Strickland Band
Too Much Sylvia

Song of the Year
"Back to Memphis” Jim Quick & Coastline
“Come and Get Your Love” Entertainers
“I Count the Tears” Dana Jones & The Bruce Caldwell Project
“Mixed Emotions” Lesa Hudson
“We Ain’t Leaving Carolina” Too Much Sylvia

Female Vocalist
Karen Clayton
Lesa Hudson
Marsha Morgan
Rhonda McDaniel
Sylvia Johns Ritchie
Terri Gore

Male Vocalist
Craig Woolard
Gary Lowder
Rick Strickland
Steve Long
Steve Owens
Tim Clark

Craig Woolard w/ Embers feat. Craig Woolard
Gary Lowder w/ Gary Lowder & Smokin’ Hot
Jim Quick w/ Jim Quick & Coastline
Lesa Hudson w/ Rick Strickland Band
Tim Clark w/ Tim Clark Band

Congratulations to all the nominees!
Posted by Pat Gwinn on 09/20/2019 - 02:35 PM

Post comment
Email Address

(max 750 characters)
* Required Fields
Note: All comments are subject to approval. Your comment will not appear until it has been approved.


    Your number one source for
    Beach Music news & events
    from Virginia and throughout
    North and South Carolina!

    Contact us
    rss feedemail usour twitterour facebook page pintrestlinkdin youtubeinstagramtumbler
    Flip Flop Live
    Emporia, Virginia 23847

    © 2018 - 2022 FlipFlopLive